About Us

Our Mission

To Inspire the Generosity of our Community to Create a Lasting Impact.

We do this in four ways:

  • We award grants to not-for-profits doing good in the community.
  • We help visionary donors practice highly effective charitable giving.
  • We provide leadership to make Decatur County a better, more beautiful, more equitable community.
  • We award scholarships to ease the financial burden of education for students.

Our History

In 1993, a group of concerned volunteers gathered to establish a community foundation in Decatur County. They recognized that this new type of charitable organization would provide something Decatur County never had before: a charitable organization that allows donors to support any type of charity and more importantly, a foundation that is established to last forever.

They worked diligently to establish the organization and gain those first gifts. Each gift was invested into a permanent fund. Those gifts have developed into the existing endowment. Providing over $1.5 million in grants and helping to bring $2 million to the community in Lilly Endowment Funds, the Foundation has become a constant source of financial support to local non-profits.

The volunteers and staff have established a structured group of committees, which actively monitor investments, grants, scholarships, donor relations, and overall operation of the Decatur County Community Foundation.

Our Board of Directors

  • Daryl Tressler, President
  • Stephanie Kress, Vice President
  • Kristi Jarvis, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Hank Martin, Immediate Past President
  • Drew Young
  • Steve Freeman
  • Rick Johnson
  • Bill Corya
  • Jane Obermeyer

To see our committees, click below.

Meet Our Team

Tami Wenning
Executive Director
Jenny Schebler
Scholarships Manager
Darin Miley
Grants Manager
Sue Feaster
Administrative Assistant
Daniel Fayette
Marketing Coordinator
Alex Sefton
Public Relations Manager

Scroll to Top