About Us

Looking Forward, Giving Back

Our Mission

To inspire the generosity of our community to create a lasting impact. We do this in four ways:


We award grants to not-for-profits doing good in the community.


We help visionary donors practice highly effective charitable giving.


We provide leadership to make Decatur County a better, more beautiful, more equitable community.


We award scholarships to ease the financial burden of education for students.

Our History

In 1993, a group of concerned volunteers gathered to establish a community foundation in Decatur County. They recognized that this new type of charitable organization would provide something Decatur County never had before: a charitable organization that allows donors to support any type of charity and more importantly, a foundation that is established to last forever.

They worked diligently to establish the organization and gain those first gifts. Each gift was invested into a permanent fund. Those gifts have developed into the existing endowment. Providing over $1.5 million in grants and helping to bring $2 million to the community in Lilly Endowment Funds, the Foundation has become a constant source of financial support to local non-profits.

The volunteers and staff have established a structured group of committees, which actively monitor investments, grants, scholarships, donor relations, and overall operation of the Decatur County Community Foundation.

Meet Our Team

Tami Wenning

Tami Wenning

Executive Director

Jenny Schebler

Jenny Schebler

Scholarships Program Manager

Darin Miley

Darin Miley

Grants Manager

Mandee Miley

Mandee Miley

Donor Manager


Sue Feaster

Sue Feaster

Administrative Assistant


Daniel Fayette

Daniel Fayette

Marketing Coordinator


Meet Our Board of Directors

Dick Glaser – President

Hank Martin, DVM – Vice President

Vince Rettig – Secretary/Treasurer

Susan Rust – Immediate Past President

Mary Miers

Kristen Stier

Drew Young

Stephanie Kress

Daryl Tressler

(Click here for a list of our committees)